Rank Structure and Promotions

It generally takes 6-9 years to obtain a Black Belt in Jujutsu. That time can be longer or shorter depending on each student. To increase in rank a formal test is given requiring the student to demonstrate all the techniques and self-defense for their own belt and all lower belts. Below is a list of the different ranks in Zenbu Ryu Jujutsu.

Kyu Ranks (Color Belts)
Rokkyu (6th Kyu) White Belt
Gokyu (5th Kyu) Yellow Belt
Yonkyu (4th Kyu) Green Belt
Sankyu (3rd Kyu) Purple Belt
Nikyu (2nd Kyu) Brown Belt
Ikkyu (1st Kyu) Brown Belt
Dan Ranks (Black Belts)
Shodan Ho Probationary 1st Degree
Shodan 1st Degree
Nidan 2nd Degree
  Copyright © 2010 Zenbu Ryu Jujutsu